Monday, June 18, 2018, 21:51

Send to friends  Print          GoogleBookmarks Twitter +g
   May , 29, 2015, 19:16 PM  

Iran crowned FINA World Water Polo Development champion
Iran maintain its undefeated record in the 5th FINA World Water Polo Development with a 13-5 win over powerhouse Uruguay in the final match.

Iran had already trounced Guatemala (20-2), Indonesia (18-6), Tunisia (19-5) and Austria (12-8). 

“We defeated a good team in the final match. Thanks to all the fans that supported us during the competition,” Iran coach Sirous Taherian said in the post match news conference. 

Austria finished in third place after defeating Malta 9-7. 

Iran’s Sajjad Abdi was named as the best goalkeeper of the FINA Water Polo Development Trophy. Mohammad Alrumaidhin from Kuwait was also named as the best goalscorer. 

This is second gold medal in the nation's history after 41 years. Iran had claimed the gold medal in the 1974 Asian Games in Tehran. 

Launched in 2007, the FINA Water Polo Development Trophy gathers teams from nations in Africa, the Americas and Asia where it is still not a major sport, seeking to develop water polo on a global level. 

The Kuwait Swimming Association organized three editions (2007, 2009 and 2013) while Dammam (KSA) hosted the 2011 edition.

Final team standings are as follows:

1. Iran
2. Uruguay
3. Austria
4. Malta
5. Azerbaijan
6. Indonesia
7. Kuwait
8. Tunisia 
9. Guatemala 
10. Morocco 

Related News

Post a comment


Your Comment  






About | Contact | Links . All Rights Reserved 2014©
Powerd by MediaGraph